And now for something completely different…

wordpress.com logo

A change of subject.

As WordPress users will be well aware, whenever one posts a new blog entry, there’s a display where you can choose to Publish or Edit. It always features a literary quote, quite a nice touch.

So, I started to collect the ones I liked most. Here are 10 of them, in no particular order – except for the final one, which I really enjoyed.

I have made this letter longer, because I have not had the time to make it shorter.

Blaise Pascal

The best style is the style you don’t notice.

Somerset Maugham

Writing is a struggle against silence.

Carlos Fuentes

The first step in blogging is not writing them but reading them.

Jeff Jarvis

Words, once they are printed, have a life of their own.

Carol Burnett

Be obscure clearly.

E.B. White

I do not like to write – I like to have written.

Gloria Steinem

Easy reading is damn hard writing.

Nathaniel Hawthorne

My ideas usually come not at my desk writing but in the midst of living.

Anais Nin

I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done.

Steven Wright

wordpress.com 

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “And now for something completely different…”

  1. Mark R.Milan Says:

    i enjoy these too.
    this is my favourite from your list.

    I have made this letter longer, because I have not had the time to make it shorter.

    Blaise Pascal

  2. v.k. venkov Says:

    And now: in stereo!

Please leave a reply

