News we never knew we needed to know

Independent UK newspaperDo you really need to know the following?

  • I got up this morning
  • I made myself a cup of coffee
  • This afternoon, I went to the local shop
  • I washed my trainers.

So, do we, equally, need to know that a Chinese boy got his head stuck in a stone balustrade, was rescued and, although in tears, was happily reunited with his grandmother?

Well, one UK newspaper [1] decide its readers needed to know, and even added a 48-second video of the boy’s misfortune.

They say that August is the British ‘silly season’ for the media. Seems spot-on, to me. Sorry to have wasted my time, and yours!

[1]: The Independent

Tags: ,

Please leave a reply

